4 Things My Forty-something Self Will Thank Me For

After seven years of marriage, several lifestyle changes, the constant dealing (sometimes battling) with life’s ups and downs and with no children just yet, I have made several good and bad decisions. 

And today, as I look back on those decisions and changes, I choose to focus on those which I think my forty-something self will thank me for; and trust me, that’s not something I’m expecting to happen soon… well, give me about four more years. LOL

A few weeks ago, I stood in front of my mirror as I imagined I was forty-something years old and engaged in some self dialogue which sounded like this:

“Hey you, beautiful! Thank you for….”

I want to share with you the four things that I (my experimental forty-something self) thanked my present-day self for.

Hey you, beautiful! Thank you for keeping the faith!

With all the things happening the past year: mama’s passing, Gee’s passing, transitions, among others, I’d say it was quite challenging for me, spiritually. I’ve seen so many “Christians” go about with life on autopilot. Giving default auto-responses to their fellow christians, attending church but not really making impact. You know, just getting by with the “christian walk”. 

The past year has shown me that the christian walk  is far from a walk in the park where you only see the birds in the air and smell colorful flowers. Sometimes, it can be like traversing a really rocky road and not having the appropriate footwear, you know what I mean? 

As I stand in front of my mirror, I recall all the challenges that threatened my faith and I find myself standing still. And my present self, by God’s grace, will try her best to keep it that way. 

Hey you, beautiful! Thank you for marrying Michael!

As I stand there thanking myself for marrying my husband, I can’t help but appreciate what this man has done for me. I look at him and I see more than just my husband – I see my best friend, the only person I can show my real self  to without the fear of being unaccepted. And trust me, even my closest friends haven’t seen 10% of the real (and by that I mean, the ugliest parts) me! 

I literally cannot imagine my life without him! He is my soulmate. And while our life together is nowhere near perfect, contrary to what I always post on social media, I would still go through the rough patches as long as he’s beside me. 

So, present self, thank you for getting yourself a non-refundable, no return no exchange human! 

Hey you, beautiful! Thank you for taking really good care (sometimes too much) of yourself!

Some people probably think that I have all the time to pamper myself because I am (just) a housewife and that I do not have children yet; well let me straight up tell you, you’re wrong. I too, have exactly 24 hours in my watch, I have a husband to take care of, a house and a business to manage. Taking care of yourself is never about the amount of time that you have, it’s valuing yourself and most importantly, being a good steward of God’s beautiful creation that is you! 

So may we, men and women alike, never feel guilty of taking good care of ourselves. 

Hey you, beautiful! Thank you for not giving up on people.

We all deal with difficult people in our lives, and believe when I say that to some, you are one of those difficult people in their list. Being the reactive, straight-forward person that I am, it cannot be helped that I offend people along the way. And then there are some people who are just really the “extra-grace-required” kind. 

I’ve been disappointed a lot of times; hurt to some extent but I remind myself that I am called to love people. Really, even saying that is already some kind of a challenge. LOL . But had I given up on people, I wouldn’t have opened myself up again to community and new friendships. Mike and I are grateful that we didn’t altogether give up on people because here we are again, thriving in God-appointed friendships and relationships. 

Things won’t make sense until time plays its role. You will not appreciate the present until you fast forward to the future and understand why things had to unfold the way they did.

Most importantly, whether you are contemplating about your present situation or what the future has in store for you, the only way you can build security is when you activate your faith response – that is, STAYING. Stay where you are and allow God’s leading. Things may not make perfect sense, stay anyway. Things may be hard, stay anyway. Things may be painful, stay anyway. When we stay, we allow God to move for us. 

Hope you all have a strong week ahead! 🙂 

Photo credit: http://www.lovethispic.com

Leave a comment